Notes From The Coast

The beach does funny things to the brain

Failure: It’s an option

on April 23, 2013

images

For all of you out there who thought I would never finish the Lavaman Triathlon in Hawaii, I would just like to say…. good call!

It’s true. I didn’t finish the race. I didn’t even start the race.

I could give you at least five semi-valid excuses for not doing the race but it all boils down to the fact that my heart (and certainly all of my joints) was not in to it.

I grappled with the decision not to do the race for a long time. And, looking back on it, I did fail. But failure is a funny thing. Failure has always taught me more about myself than success. It causes a self examination of my own motivation, or lack there of. It forces me to consider how I change as time marches on. It makes me ask if I like who I am. And if not, why not? If so, why so?

All this contemplative thought brought me back here. To my quiet little blog. To my place in the world where I can toss stones in the form of essays over the abyss and see if they make a splash.

I seriously considered abandoning this blog because I had focused so much of it on my ongoing training vs. living life battle and the dumb race. But then I realized there are other things I want to talk about. Like how the best moments are always the unplanned ones, or why collaboration always sounds like a good idea, unless of course you want to come up with good ideas, or my deep need to explain some choices on my Netflix queue. I know they sound like random thoughts right now but I promise I’ll bring them around to a make a point. About something. At least, that’s the dream.

So, I’m back! I hope my readership is still intact – I’m talking to you Mom, Dad, Mike and random stranger in Pennsylvania!

Ah, it’s good to be back,
xo
C

3 responses to “Failure: It’s an option

  1. Kristen says:

    Nice to have you back!

  2. Jennifer says:

    Literally yesterday I was going to text and ask you if you were ever gonna update this thing. But then I got distracted updating my Netflix queue. Just added Corvette Summer, how about you? Oh by the way I hate the word “failed” and never use it (e.g., “failed writer” or “failed businessman”). WTF. Is that the one defining thing about a person?! Nonsense.

Leave a Reply

